February 13, 2012

  • Day trip to Galena!

     My husband and I spent the day in Galena, it was beautiful.

    I love old buildings and Galena is full of them. happy

    This is the main street, can you see the house at the top of the hill?

    Galena is built into a hill. The streets are layered above the main street and river.

     

    I did some Valentine shopping here. heart

     

    This is a little Herb and Tea store, aren’t the Bee hives so cute?

     

    This is the oldest house in Galena.

     

    These stairs lead up to the houses, library, school, on the next streets above the main street.

    The stairs keep going up, follow the lampposts till they stop at the street behind the trees.

     

    When you get to the next street above the main street, if you live in one of the houses,

    you have to climb stairs again to get to your front door!!

     

    I can’t imagine when it snows, or if there is ice, how they can drive up and down the steep streets,

    and shovel all those stairs!

     

    The gates and railings around some of the houses were just gorgeous.

     

    These houses are on the downhill side of the street, their backyards drop almost straight down!

    They look small, but some of them have four and five stories going down.

    If you look close at the house on the right, just to the left of the front door,

    you can see the roof of another house below. 

     

    This is one set of stairs to the street below.

     

    The house on the left is “The Belvidere Mansion”.

    On the right is a view from an upper street.

     

    The house on the right is “Ulysses S. Grant’s” house.

     

     

    heart

     

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

     

     

Comments (9)

  • I bet the residents of this town don’t have a problem staying in shape with all those stairs around. 
    These pictures reminds me of a similar town in England I visited named Bath-these two old entries are pictures of the town….http://redladybug18.xanga.com/739877261/bath-in-black-and-white/ and http://redladybug18.xanga.com/739877791/a-walk-around-town/.  It was built into a hill but not quite as steep as the one pictured above. 

    As for shoveling the snow on the stairs….I bet if you didn’t it could make nice slides :)

    Happy <3 day to you!

  • What a lovely, quaint town to visit!  Thanks for sharing the photos ~

  • Happy Valentines Day!!! I love Galena, all your pictures are really nice and make me want to go again! I love the one with the super long stairs and Main Street with the house at the top! Love ya!

  • HaPpY Valentines Day!!!

    Love all the pictures.  Now I want to go too. I don’t think I would walk down those stairs if it were icy…that would be scary!
    Glad you had fun there. Thanks for the bowl. =)
    Love ya.

  • @redladybug18 - My brothers and my boys made a sled hill out of my mom’s front porch stairs! But they’d love those stairs alot more.  Even though you don’t get snow Gabrielle..you think like a northerner. ;)

  • Hello Karen,  I just popped over to see if you’ve posted recently and surprise you have been sharing alot that I have missed.  I’m so glad I came by for a visit.  One of these days I will get back to posting again.  I admit I lack inspiration.  Love all the pictures and your trip looks wonderful.  It was great to visit with you.  God Bless you, Cindy

  • this place looks like my kinda town! so beautiful, historical and full of quirky character—all things i love.
    i’m thinking that you are mom to a sweet friend of mine. :) so i’ll also say… nice to meet you! in this sort of meeting way!

  • @down_onthefarm - Nice to meet you too! Liz said you are SUPER nice, talented, in shape, organized, witty, beautiful, humble, etc… , she said you would fit right in with our family

  • oh dear.  what kind words. liz is super sweet. but she surely has me confused with someone else.
    i have so much interest and respect for the mom that i’ve known you to be through your daughter. you ALL are amazing!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *